We hope you will join everybody here at GeekPlanetOnline in congratulating Tea & Jeopardy’s Emma Newman for the shortlisting of her acclaimed science fiction novel, After Atlas, for this year’s Arthur. C. Clarke Award.

This year’s award saw submissions from 86 titles from 38 publishing imprints and independent authors; After Atlas was chosen from this staggering collection to be one of only six shortlisted finalists for an award previously won by talented authors like Adrian Tchaikovsky, Lauren Beukes, China Miéville and Margaret Atwood.

After Atlas will be competing against Becky Chambers’ A Closed and Common Orbit, Yoon Ha Lee’s Ninefox Gambit, Tricia Sullivan’s Occupy Me, Lavie Tidhar’s Central Station and Colson Whitehead’s The Underground Railroad. In addition to the coveted award itself, the winner will also receive a monetary award equal to the current year (£2,017.00).

The award ceremony, where the winner will be announced, will be held on Thursday 27th July. We wish the best of luck to Emma, and await the result with bated breath!